Toll Free 800-486-5441  |  Local 910-278-5213
1-what-a-catch 1 What a Catch

1 What a Catch | Oak Island Vacation Rental

6606 W Beach Dr - 5 Bedrooms - 3 Bathrooms

Share This Property:
Share This Property:


**Please note that due to erosion on our beaches, the direct beach access is unusable at this time. As a result, guests will need to use the public beach access (8 to 10 lots east) or the large beach access to the west.**

Located in the West Beach area of Oak Island, this lovely addition to our rental market is perfect for your multi-generational Oak Island vacation. Step inside to find ample living space between the home’s main and lower level living areas.  You’ll find the floor plan of 1 What A Catch suits just about any family arrangement while the home itself offers guests peace and privacy inside as well as out.

With minimal traffic, a walk to the beach for fun and fishing is both stress-free and convenient. On your way back, rinse little toes using the enclosed outdoor shower before enjoying an evening meal gathered around the home’s ocean side porch picnic table.

Ground Level: Upon entering the main level of the home, guests find a large family room complete with sleeping area, dining table, and kitchenette.  Two additional bedrooms including one containing three twin beds are also located on the main level and provide the perfect setting for teenagers or older children. 

Main Level: Accessible by exterior stair, guests make their way to the upper level of the home where you’ll find three comfortable bedrooms and two baths. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the waves while relaxing on the home’s covered porch and sundeck.  If you find yourself in need of a bit more privacy, soak up the sun while reading a good book from the home’s sound side deck.  


Special Features:
Departure Cleaning w/Weekly Rentals | Ground Level Kitchenette

Standard Features:
Central Heat/Air on Main Level | 2 Mini-Split A/C Systems on Ground Level | Washer/Dryer | Ceiling Fans | Please Note: No Phone

Media Features:
Wireless Internet | 4 TVs | Cable | DVD Player

Kitchen Features:
Well-Equipped | Dishwasher | Microwave | Toaster | Coffee Maker | Breakfast Bar | Ground Level Kitchenette w/Refrigerator, Sink & Coffee Maker

Outside Features:
Ground Level Oceanside Patio w/Picnic Table | Main Level Oceanside Porch & Sundeck w/Furniture | Rear Sundeck w/Table | Enclosed H&C Outdoor Shower | Ample Parking

Friendly Reminders:
No Smoking | No Pets | Linen Package Available $125
  Daily Weekly
Sep 8, 2018 - Dec 31, 2018 $195 $1,195
Jan 1, 2019 - Dec 31, 2019 - TBD
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Baths
  • 2nd Row
  • Covered Porch
  • Departure Clean w/ Weekly
  • Highspeed Internet
  • No Smoking
  • Outside Shower
  • West Beach
Title is required
Name is required
Email is required
Check In Date is required
Review is required

Thank you for entering your review. The review will become available to the system shortly.

1 1

Overall Rating:

1 1
In need of much repair
1 1 5
Review Date: 05/04/2018
No HVAC. Was given 2 portable radiators to keep entire downstairs warm at night. No AC for upstairs during the day, no heat pump for at night only electric. Was told "sorry" after spending hours waiting for maintenance to come and fix the issue, and they weren't able to. Across the road private beach access leads to the top of a sheer drop off of a dune. On the 2nd to last day, someone that was over-seeing work on the house diagonal across the street (far right house in pic 28 and house with on the left with truck parked in pic 29) came to inform us in his uppity way that "you aren't allowed to use the beach access because of erosion, did no one tell you. well now you know" Even though there was no way of us using it to begin with. Decking was severely in need of repair, maintenance man was able to nail down a few of the boards that were directly in front of the bottom doorway. However, 70% or so of the decking needed replacing, many would flip up if you stepped on them wrong. Was told when leaving to just leave the keys with the cleaners' supervisor (the one with the clip board), don't worry about taking them to the office. I guess this is how they make sure complaints are kept at a minimum.
Manager Response:
We appreciate your feedback following your March stay in 1 What A Catch. Unfortunately your stay in this property was our first rental in the property after turning the water back on to the home and a block of work was being completed there. We did have a vendor check the units and presented the property owner with estimates on repairing it so we could offer something better than the 2 portable units; however, the owner decided to go in a different direction that was out of our direct control. While the issue regarding the drop off/escarpments still exist, we have since been able to get our diverted beach walkway approved by the Town of Oak Island for our guests in that area. As far as the inspector instructing you to leave the keys in the unit, this is actually a form of our "express check out" method rather than a means of avoiding complaints. We offer our guests the option of checking out by phone (or speaking with someone in our office) and leaving the keys in the property so they were correct in telling you of that option. Despite the issues mentioned, we do hope you will consider a repeat visit to Oak Island with MRA. We would be happy to suggest alternative properties if you feel uncomfortable booking this particular property again. Should you wish to discuss anything further, please call our office at 800.486.5441.
Name is required
Email is required
Home Phone is required

Your request has been sent. We look forward to meeting all your vacation needs!

Vacation Rental Marketing by Blizzard Internet Marketing, Inc. | Owners Link | Site Map | Web Administrator Login